Re: [PATCH 2/2] mergetool: run prompt only if guessed tool
From: Felipe Contreras <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 23:00:46
Charles Bailey wrote:
On Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 01:24:09AM -0500, Felipe Contreras wrote:quoted
This is what I get when a tool is not working: Documentation/config.txt seems unchanged. Was the merge successful? [y/n]Does this happen now even with merge tools for which we do trust the exit code? If so, my original concern is addressed.
Which tools are those?
quoted
quoted
Personally, I leave mergetool.prompt unset (default true) because one extra click in a complex merge resolution is relatively low overhead and to catch myself when I forget that I'm in a no-X environment. I glanced at the patch and it seems to subvert this intent for users who have configured a merge tool. Is my understanding correct?Yes, that's correct. If the user has *manually* configured a tool, why would you ask him again? We are annoying the overwhelming the vast majority of users who already configured the right tool in order to avoid issues with a minute minority that might potentially but unlikely have a problem once or twice. That's not productive.We're asking to user to signal that he's happy to launch the mergetool and implicitly giving him an opportunity to break out of the session. I don't see anything wrong with having this behaviour.
You don't see anything wrong with asking the user *every single time* he runs `git mergetool`, even though he *already told us* which tool to use? If so, I'm pretty sure everybody else disagrees with you. -- Felipe Contreras