Re: [PATCH 2/2] mergetool: run prompt only if guessed tool
From: Charles Bailey <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 23:00:46
On Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 01:24:09AM -0500, Felipe Contreras wrote:
This is what I get when a tool is not working: Documentation/config.txt seems unchanged. Was the merge successful? [y/n]
Does this happen now even with merge tools for which we do trust the exit code? If so, my original concern is addressed.
quoted
Personally, I leave mergetool.prompt unset (default true) because one extra click in a complex merge resolution is relatively low overhead and to catch myself when I forget that I'm in a no-X environment. I glanced at the patch and it seems to subvert this intent for users who have configured a merge tool. Is my understanding correct?Yes, that's correct. If the user has *manually* configured a tool, why would you ask him again? We are annoying the overwhelming the vast majority of users who already configured the right tool in order to avoid issues with a minute minority that might potentially but unlikely have a problem once or twice. That's not productive.
We're asking to user to signal that he's happy to launch the mergetool and implicitly giving him an opportunity to break out of the session. I don't see anything wrong with having this behaviour. So long as we don't hit the loop-with-lots-of-error-trace for users who haven't set mergetool.prompt I've no strong objections to changing the default so long as an explictly set mergetool.prompt is respected. Ideally, I think I'd like the prompt to accept a "launch/skip/abort" range of options but that's a wider scoped thing. Sometimes when I'm resolving a lot of things and not specifying any paths I come across something that know I don't want to attempt a resolve with my currently configured tool and I just want to skip it for now. Currently, I have to either abort the session or let the mergetool fire up and close it again neither of which are optimal.