Thread (3 messages) flat view 3 messages, 3 authors, 2016-06-15

Re: [PATCH 3/2] notes-merge: Don't remove .git/NOTES_MERGE_WORKTREE; it may be the user's cwd

From: Johannes Sixt <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 22:53:18

Possibly related (same subject, not in this thread)

Am 3/15/2012 0:55, schrieb Johan Herland:
When a manual notes merge is committed or aborted, we need to remove the
temporary worktree at .git/NOTES_MERGE_WORKTREE. However, removing the
entire directory is not good if the user ran the 'git notes merge
--commit/--abort' from within that directory. On Windows, the directory
removal would simply fail, while on POSIX systems, users would suddenly
find themselves in an invalid current directory.

Therefore, instead of deleting the entire directory, we delete everything
_within_ the directory, and leave the (empty) directory in place.
Just a data point: With this patch, the test passes on Windows.

-- Hannes
Keyboard shortcuts
hback out one level
jnext message in thread
kprevious message in thread
ldrill in
Escclose help / fold thread tree
?toggle this help