Re: Deleting files
From: Shak <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 22:44:44
"Pieter de Bie" [off-list ref] wrote in message news:477B22F6-9F24-4CBE-98EE-58EF697E6320@ai.rug.nl...
In short, the point is that you never commited the deletions! Your whole history until now will still show those deleted files. You can commit the actually deletions now, as you should have done before (either by using "git rm <file>", "git add -u", "git commit -a" or "git commit <file>".
Thanks for the quick workflow. To fill in a gap in my OP, I was using "git add ." to add new files before a "commit". Since I (perhaps incorrectly) took "commit -a" as a short cut for these two commands, I assumed that "git add ." would also commit deletions. So sticking to my previous workflow (I need to do this since "commit -a" as I understand it doesn't commit new files, and I often forget that I've added :)), it seems I should do the following to keep the working directory in sync with the repository: git add . git add -u git commit Is that right? Should the two add commands be called in that order or doesn't it matter? I ask because I'm still concerned with how git assumed I had renamed files after I had "git rm"d them. As far as I could tell they were not very alike. Perhaps adding the new files before removing the old ones would stop this behavior? Shak