Deleting files
From: Shak <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 22:44:44
Hi, Are files supposed to be continually tracked after commiting after deleting them? git status reports that files have been deleted as expected (they're not there anymore). I commit as wanted. I do some more work, but then git status still reports that the same files have been deleted. As such I have a historical list of "deleted" files that I may have been working on previously and had committed. I have to run git rm to erase these entries, but I've no idea how that affects my history. Shouldn't git add/commit remember that a file has been deleted previously? On a related note, once I do git rm on one of these files, git status sometimes reports that these rm'd files have been renamed to a new one instead! What's going on? :( Shak