Re: VCS comparison table
From: Jakub Narebski <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 22:42:45
On Son, Oct 22, 2006 Matthew D. Fuller wrote:
On Sun, Oct 22, 2006 at 07:25:41AM -0700 I heard the voice of Carl Worth, and lo! it spake thus:quoted
git pull . mainlineThis throws me a little. I'd expect it to Just Do It when it's fast-forwarding, but if it's doing a merge, I'd prefer it to stop and wait before creating the commit, even if there are no textual conflicts. I realize you can just look at it afterward and back out the commit if necessary, but still...
Or you can use --no-commit option to git pull, and commit later. But it is true that you can always amend the commit with got commit --amend, even if the commit is merge.
quoted
Ah, I hadn't realized that bzr commits stored an "originating branch" inside them.Every branch has a nickname, settable with 'bzr nick' (defaulting to whatever the directory it's in is), and that's stored as a text field in each commit. It's mostly cosmetic, but it's handy to see at a glance.
If I remember correctly Linus argued against it, because branch name is something local to repository (most common example is "mine 'master' is yours 'origin'"). There was proposal for "note" header for notes like merge algorithm used, or branch name, visible only in 'raw' mode, but it wasn't implemented.
quoted
The mainline..featureA syntax literally just means: the set of commits that are reachable by featureA and excluding the set of commits reachable by mainlineFrom what I can gather from this, though, that means that when I merge stuff from featureA into mainline (and keep on with other stuff in featureA), I'll no longer be able to see those older commits from this command. And I'll see merged revisions from branches other than mainline (until they themselves get merged into mainline), correct? It sounds more like a 'bzr missing --mine-only' than looking down a mainline in log...
That's true. That is what history viewers are for (gitk, qgit, tig, gitview, git-show-branch, git-browser) are for. And there is always reflog (if you enable it, of course).