On 11 February 2016 at 11:31, Junio C Hamano [off-list ref] wrote:
So it should suffice to mention it in the release notes as one
bullet item that describes one positive change, among all other
updates described in a simlar way. And there is no special
"warnings for existing users" necessary, I would say.
It's unlikely anyone would move the merged window to the top as a
preference only without being aware of the original inconsistency.
If someone has been using a workaround, it would be fairly obvious
as to what has changed, and definitely more so than when they first
encountered the original behavior. Any adjustments to the new behavior
would probably be a workflow change rather than a system configuration
or scripting change.