Re: [PATCH 2/2] mergetool: run prompt only if guessed tool
From: David Aguilar <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 23:00:47
On Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 10:19 AM, Junio C Hamano [off-list ref] wrote:
David Aguilar [off-list ref] writes:quoted
[Cc:ing Charles in case he has an opinion, this behavior dates back to the original MT] On Sun, Apr 20, 2014 at 07:17:34PM -0500, Felipe Contreras wrote:quoted
It's annoying to see the prompt: Hit return to start merge resolution tool (foo): Every time the user does 'git mergetool' even if the user already configured 'foo' as the wanted tool. Display this prompt only when the user hasn't explicitly configured a tool.I agree this is probably helpful. Most users I've met end up configuring mergetool.prompt=false. ThanksOK, is it an Ack?
Sure thing. Acked-by: David Aguilar <redacted>
Thanks for CC'ing Charles, by the way. I think his point about mentioning the change of default somewhere in the documentation has some merits, and it can be done in a follow-up patch on top.
Another thing that crossed my mind is that we have -y for --no-prompt because --prompt was the original default. Maybe a -i (?) shortcut for the interactive --prompt can be added to make the "need to skip some when resolving" use case easier to activate. -- David