I think the code before this patch used to say "Would not remove"
and "Not removing" in certain cases to report the paths that the
command decided not to remove, but after this patch these two
messages no longer appear in the patch.
Is it expected, are we losing information, or...?
I do not think we are losing any information.
Say, we have a repo like this:
test.git
|-- untracked_file
|-- untracked_bar
| |-- bar.txt
|-- untracked_foo
|-- foo.txt
The original version prints out:
$ git clean -fn
Would remove untracked_file
Would not remove untracked_bar/
Would not remove untracked_foo/
We never asked for any directories to be removed so IMHO the "Would
not remove ..." messages are just noise.
The new version prints out:
$ git clean -fn
Would remove untracked_file