Andrew Sayers [off-list ref] writes:
I assume the reason for removing the warning altogether is that some day
the signal:noise ratio will just get too bad.
The reasoning is a lot simpler than that.
If the end game is not remove the warning, then we would be switching to a
new default that is "give loud warning until the user configures her own
default, but push upstream/current anyway" mode. We do not want such a
stupid mode as the default---we want the default to be either upstream or
current at the end, when nobody remembers what the ancient default was.
The "warn loud but do it anyway" is a very good interim step during the
migration, but is never a good default. If we are going to stop there,
"give loud warning until the user chooses and configures the default, and
push nothing" mode would be a LOT safer and saner default, as it would
really force people to configure the default. Obviously we do not want to
go there, so...