Thread (1 message) 1 message, 1 author, 2016-06-15

Re: What does this mean

From: Michał Kiedrowicz <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 22:47:04

Bill Cochran [off-list ref] wrote:
Thanks for the quick answer.  I can fix this problem by having a
clone of the repository on the same machine.  I am just curious if
the behavior I am seeing is correct.
quoted
runge:~/repository/papers wkcochra$ git checkout
D       medial axis/medial axis.tcp
'git checkout' command switches to another branch (actually, because
quoted
nothing was specified on command line, it doesn't switch at all) and
prints a summary of modified files.
On machine A, I created a directory and file.  This was committed to
`master.'  The repository was pushed to machine B.  What you are
looking at is the subsequent checkout on machine B.  Said directory
and file are medial axis/medial axis.tcp.  The checkout did not
create the directory nor the file.  Rather, I get the result above.

git show informs me I am at the correct commit.  git checkout "medial
axis" fails:
runge:~/repository/papers wkcochra$ git checkout "medial axis"
error: pathspec 'medial axis' did not match any file(s) known to git.

Is this the correct behavior of checkout?

quoted
For description of 'D', look for '--name-status' option in man
git-diff. Maybe this what you are looking for.
So, this file is deleted, according to the man page of git-diff.
Interesting that it was never created on machine B.
I think I managed to reproduce your problem. Here is what I did:
$ git push ../b master
Counting objects: 4, done.
Writing objects: 100% (4/4), 283 bytes, done.
Total 4 (delta 0), reused 0 (delta 0)
Unpacking objects: 100% (4/4), done.
warning: updating the current branch
warning: Updating the currently checked out branch may cause confusion,
warning: as the index and work tree do not reflect changes that are in HEAD.
warning: As a result, you may see the changes you just pushed into it
warning: reverted when you run 'git diff' over there, and you may want
warning: to run 'git reset --hard' before starting to work to recover.
This seems to be your case. You see a file as deleted, because in another repo
you have created.
warning: 
warning: You can set 'receive.denyCurrentBranch' configuration variable to
warning: 'refuse' in the remote repository to forbid pushing into its
warning: current branch.
warning: To allow pushing into the current branch, you can set it to 'ignore';
warning: but this is not recommended unless you arranged to update its work
warning: tree to match what you pushed in some other way.
warning: 
warning: To squelch this message, you can set it to 'warn'.
warning: 
warning: Note that the default will change in a future version of git
warning: to refuse updating the current branch unless you have the
warning: configuration variable set to either 'ignore' or 'warn'.
To ../b
 * [new branch]      master -> master

$ cd ../b/
$ git checkout 
D	medial axis/medial axis.tcp
Keyboard shortcuts
hback out one level
jnext message in thread
kprevious message in thread
ldrill in
Escclose help / fold thread tree
?toggle this help