Re: [PATCH] merge-recursive: handle file mode changes
From: Junio C Hamano <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 22:44:23
Clemens Buchacher [off-list ref] writes:
On Fri, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:21:05AM +0100, Clemens Buchacher wrote:quoted
If the file mode or link changed in only one branch, keep the changed version. If the file mode or link changed differently in both branches, report a conflict. If this happens, the user is more likely to be aware of the change in the head branch. Choose the remote version by default, in order to make the user think about the change.In principle, both decisions are equally right or wrong. However, suggesting the remote version (i.e., "b") by default gives more incentive to think about it because the file now changed with respect to the head version (i.e., "a"), which the user started out with.
This matters only when the conflict is irreconcilable in the work tree, and as long as we get the most important part right, i.e. marking the path to be conflicting, that is good enough to make sure that the user does not commit without thinking. Besides the change breaks the traditional behaviour of leaving the "a" side in the work tree. As you already know, what you have done is as equally valid as the other side did. Be assertive and more confident in what you have done ;-).