david@lang.hm writes:
since git doesn't track directories, only content (per the big
discussion recently) I beleive that doing a checkout would leave Rob
without the directories that he emptied out, so shouldn't git apply
also clear the directories to end up in the same state?
It should and it does, unless you have untracked files in that
directory that you haven't told git about. Then removing the
directory along with these files will lose the files there,
which is a wrong thing to do.
A simple "rm -fr this/directory/is/no/longer/interesting/to/me"
would be all that is needed.