what if the user wants to change the mode bits of an assume-unchanged
file with the twiddled permissions, but forgets to clear the flag
first? seems like that change is likely to get lost, especially if the
new mode is read-only....
Remember - git only cares about execute permissions. The write permissions
are entirely ignored by git ..
Linus