On Thu, 3 Nov 2005, Daniel Barkalow wrote:
I think the situation is that he really wanted to update master, but
forgot that he was on the maint branch. So now he's in a merge of things
he didn't actually want to merge and wants to get back to not having junk
all over the place (some files that need to be merged, some files that
have been merged, new files, removed files, etc).
And that's exactly what "git reset --hard" is there for. It will reset to
the old head of the branch you are on (ie HEAD), and get rid of everything
that was done to the tree.
Linus