bug when git stash apply after switching to branch with links were regular files

From: Britton Kerin <hidden>
Date: 2022-01-05 00:52:58

On git version 2.34.1:

I have a branch where sym links get replaced with copies of the
regular files they point to.  If I make a change to that branch and
git stash it, then git checkout master again, then git stash apply I
get messages like this:

     $ git stash apply
     Adding dirA_thats_now_a_link_again
     Adding dirB_thats_now_a_link_again
     etc.

These messages seem  completely spurious: applying the stash doesn't
result in any actual changes in any of those paths (and the links stay
links).  The only change is to the actual file affected by the stash
(which was a real file in both the branch and master).

Interestingly I was getting this same message a few smallish versions
of git back I believe when I did the checkout back to master.  I
updated to latest stable git and that issue went away.  So it looks
like maybe a fix to get rid of these spurious messages got applied in
one place but not others.

If there's interest in fixing this issue I can go back and isolate it
more carefully on request.

Britton
Keyboard shortcuts
hback out one level
jnext message in thread
kprevious message in thread
ldrill in
Escclose help / fold thread tree
?toggle this help