Hi,
After setting up a new machine with latest Git and
I noticed commit messages for true merge changed from
Merge branch '<branchname>'
to
Merge branch 'refs/heads/<branchname>'
Nothing changed in the merge workflow or git configuration
I'm failing to find in the docs what drives that change, what
configuration option controls such (default?) message.
What may be the reason of that change?
Best regards
--
Mateusz Loskot, http://mateusz.loskot.net
On Wed, Nov 13, 2019 at 12:48:53AM +0100, Mateusz Loskot wrote:
After setting up a new machine with latest Git and
I noticed commit messages for true merge changed from
Merge branch '<branchname>'
to
Merge branch 'refs/heads/<branchname>'
Nothing changed in the merge workflow or git configuration
I can't reproduce the problem here. If I set up a repository like this:
git init repo && cd repo
>base && git add base && git commit -m base
>master && git add master && git commit -m master
git checkout -b side HEAD^
>side && git add side && git commit -m side
git checkout master
git tag tip
and then run:
git reset --hard tip && git merge --no-edit side
git log -1 --oneline
I get:
Merge branch 'side'
If I do:
git reset --hard tip && git merge --no-edit refs/heads/side
git log -1 --oneline
then I get:
Merge branch 'refs/heads/side'
And the behavior seems the same going back to older versions of Git. Are
you sure your workflow hasn't changed somehow?
Can you show an example that triggers the behavior for you?
I'm failing to find in the docs what drives that change, what
configuration option controls such (default?) message.
What may be the reason of that change?
I think any change there would probably be unintentional (but it's hard
to say for sure without tracking it down).
-Peff