Rewriting history and public-private-ish branches
From: Jay Levitt <hidden>
Date: 2016-06-15 22:52:40
I frequently conflate git-as-version-control with git-as-deployer when I'm editing on my Mac but testing on a server. I'll do things like... Mac: checkout -b origin/topic-branch Mac: make a major change, commit and push server: pull [do while buggy] server: discover a typo Mac: fix the typo, commit and push server: pull [end] Mac: squash commits Mac: checkout master Mac: merge topic-branch Mac: branch -d topic-branch Mac: push origin :topic-branch As long as I'm the only one who's seen this "published" history, am I doing anything bad? Do I leave any residue behind in the repo? Jay Levitt