v1.7.0-rc0~18^2 (branch -d: base the "already-merged" safety on the
branch it merges with, 2009-12-29) taught ‘git branch’ a new heuristic
for when it is safe to delete a branch without forcing the issue. It
is safe to delete a branch "topic" without second thought if:
- the branch "topic" is set up to pull from a (remote-tracking,
usually) branch and is fully merged in that "upstream" branch, or
- there is no branch.topic.merge configuration and branch "topic" is
fully merged in the current HEAD.
Update the man page to acknowledge the new rules.
Signed-off-by: Jonathan Nieder <redacted>
---
I was looking in the documentation for a way to disable the new
behavior. But that was the wrong idea --- better to see what it’s
like to get used to it first.
Documentation/git-branch.txt | 4 +++-
1 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
diff --git a/Documentation/git-branch.txt b/Documentation/git-branch.txt
index d78f4c7..1940256 100644
--- a/Documentation/git-branch.txt
+++ b/Documentation/git-branch.txt
@@ -63,7 +63,9 @@ way to clean up all obsolete remote-tracking branches.
OPTIONS
-------
-d::
- Delete a branch. The branch must be fully merged in HEAD.
+ Delete a branch. The branch must be fully merged in its
+ upstream branch, or in `HEAD` if no upstream was set with
+ `--track` or `--set-upstream`.
-D::
Delete a branch irrespective of its merged status.
--
1.7.1.rc1