Hello.
I'm a first-time Git user. I found out how to ignore files with Git.
For example I've put "*.[oa]" and "*~" in ./git/info/exclude. However,
the rest of the persons doing commits in the public repository might not
have those entries. Is everyone required to put those entries in
"exclude" themselves or does Git allow for those to be automatically
added next time they do a "git pull"?
On Jun 1, 2009, at 9:46 AM, Nikos Chantziaras wrote:
I'm a first-time Git user. I found out how to ignore files with
Git. For example I've put "*.[oa]" and "*~" in ./git/info/exclude.
However, the rest of the persons doing commits in the public
repository might not have those entries. Is everyone required to
put those entries in "exclude" themselves or does Git allow for
those to be automatically added next time they do a "git pull"?
If you commit a .gitignore, it will be used by everyone. .git/info/
exclude is for your personal excludes. Generally, I'd suggest putting
build products in .gitignore and your editor's garbage in exclude.
For example:
project/.gitignore:
-------------------
*.o
*.a
random.tmp
project/.git/info/exclude:
--------------------------
.*.swp
*~
/my-todo.txt
If you add and commit the .gitignore file it will be picked up by
everyone, while whatever backups, temp files, notes, or whatever you
use can be kept private in your exclude file.
~~ Brian
Brian Gernhardt wrote:
On Jun 1, 2009, at 9:46 AM, Nikos Chantziaras wrote:
quoted
[...]
For example I've put "*.[oa]" and "*~" in ./git/info/exclude.
However, the rest of the persons doing commits in the public
repository might not have those entries. Is everyone required to put
those entries in "exclude" themselves or does Git allow for those to
be automatically added next time they do a "git pull"?
If you commit a .gitignore, it will be used by everyone.
.git/info/exclude is for your personal excludes. Generally, I'd suggest
putting build products in .gitignore and your editor's garbage in
exclude.
[...]
If you add and commit the .gitignore file it will be picked up by
everyone, while whatever backups, temp files, notes, or whatever you use
can be kept private in your exclude file.
Thanks, Brian!